Formally known as POPGUNS

Application available on line for many Indiana Counties. Click here for Application

Marion County - Indianapolis

If you live within the jurisdictions of Lawrence Police, Speedway Police or Cumberland PD, then you will apply at their respective police stations rather than downtown Indianapolis.

Gun Permits

INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLY FOR A PERSONAL PROTECTION FIREARMS PERMIT THROUGH THE INDIANAPOLIS POLICE DEPARTMENT OR THE MARION COUNTY SHERIFF’S DEPARTMENT

 

- APPLICATION PROCEDURE -

 

§                     Please read these instructions and the application for handgun license completely and carefully.

 

§                     Insure your application is typed or printed legibly, notarized, all questions have been answered and the application including the supplemental application is completed.  (We recommend that you have your application typed, for a small fee this can completed at State Bonding across from the City County Bldg. on Delaware St.)

 

§                     If applicable, do not fail to admit your full arrest record. Failure to comply may lead to denial of a license.

 

§                     See back of instruction sheet for fee schedule

 

§                     Bring the completed documents, money order or certified check and the local application fee to the:

 

            Indianapolis Police Department Citizens Service Desk

            Room E100, 50 N. Alabama Street

            Indianapolis, Indiana

 

            Hours of Operation are 8:00 A.M to 4:00 P.M Monday through Friday (excluding national holidays).

 

§                     You will be notified by mail as to the approval or denial of your handgun license.

 

 

- SPECIAL NOTICE -

 

ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED TRUTHFULLY AND COMPLETELY.  ANY FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE INDIANAPOLIS POLICE DEPARTMENT AND/OR THE INDIANA STATE POLICE ON THE APPLICATION MAY RESULT IN THE DENIAL OF YOUR HANDGUN LICENSE 

HANDGUN LICENSING FEE SCHEDULE

Effective 04-01-2010

$40 for 4 years or $125 for Lifetime. ($100 if renewing a 4-year to a Lifetime.)
Issuing Authority: State Police through Chief Law Enforcement Officer of Municipality

Qualified or unlimited licenses to carry handguns; fees; exemptions from payment of fees
Note: This version of section effective 7-1-2007. See also preceding version of this section, effective until 7-1-2007.
Sec. 4. (a) Licenses to carry handguns shall be either qualified or unlimited, and are valid for:
(1) four (4) years from the date of issue in the case of a four (4) year license; or
(2) the life of the individual receiving the license in the case of a lifetime license.
A qualified license shall be issued for hunting and target practice. The superintendent may adopt rules imposing limitations on the use and carrying of handguns under a license when handguns are carried by a licensee as a condition of employment. Unlimited licenses shall be issued for the purpose of the protection of life and property.
(b) In addition to the application fee, the fee for:
(1) a qualified license shall be:
(A) five dollars ($5) for a four (4) year qualified license;
(B) twenty-five dollars ($25) for a lifetime qualified license from a person who does not currently possess a valid Indiana handgun license; or
(C) twenty dollars ($20) for a lifetime qualified license from a person who currently possesses a valid Indiana handgun license; and
(2) an unlimited license shall be:
(A) thirty dollars ($30) for a four (4) year unlimited license;
(B) seventy-five dollars ($75) for a lifetime unlimited license from a person who does not currently possess a valid Indiana handgun license; or
(C) sixty dollars ($60) for a lifetime unlimited license from a person who currently possesses a valid Indiana handgun license.
 

For most other counties you will apply with the Police department who would respond to your home in the event you would need Law Enforcement assistance. Call 1st to make sure that your PD issues permits or if you need to apply with your County Sheriffs Department.